• Aulis Sallinen
  • Introduction and Tango Overture , Op. 74 a (1997)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Kitakyushu International Music Festival and The Forbidden City Music Festival, Beijing

Version also available for piano and string orchestra (Op. 74b)

  • Piano; str5tet
  • str 4tet
  • Piano
  • 10 min

Programme Note

The composition was originally written for piano quintet. Aulis Sallinen's aim was to write music to open a chamber music concert.

The Introduction is built of material the composer has used in the end of his seventh Symphony. The latter part is a salute to tango, the musical phenomenon that is very popular in Finland as well in Argentina.

© Aulis Sallinen