• Brian Elias
  • Proverbs of Hell (1975)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the 1975 Radcliffe Music Award Concerts

  • SATB
  • 10 min
  • William Blake
  • English

Programme Note

This work is a continuous setting of most of THE PROVERBS OF HELL by William Blake. It is in two main sections: the first quick and violent; the second slower and more expansive. Although the musical form is largely independent of the words, repetitions of particular themes in the words themselves are paralleled by repetitions of earlier material in the music. Solo passages punctuate episodes within the larger sections and highlight certain of the proverbs.

THE PROVERBS OF HELL was commissioned by the 1975 Radcliffe Music Awards Concerts. The first public performance was given by the John Alldis Choir in London in 1975.

Brian Elias