• Michael Nyman
  • Noises, Sounds and Sweet Airs (1994)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • 0.1.1(bcl).ssx(asx)+barsx(fl,pic).01.0.0+btbn(tba).0pfbgtrstr(6vn,2va,2vc)
  • Soprano, contralto, Tenor
  • 1 hr 30 min
  • Michael Nyman
  • Shakespeare
  • English

Programme Note

This is a modified version of Nyman’s 1990 score for Karine Saporta’s opera-ballet The Princess of Milan composed while scoring Peter Greenaway’s film Prospero’s Books, with which it shares its source, The Tempest. He writes: ‘Musically I treated La Princesse de Milan as an opera, which is what, in its dance-free existence, it is. But an opera with a difference: its three singers are voices rather than roles, carriers of the text rather than characters.’

View Score