• Michael Nyman
  • The Fall of Icarus (1989)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Plan K and Théâtre de la Monnaie

Exclusive to the Michael Nyman Band
Unavailable for performance.

  • 2ssx(asx).barsx:(picc:fl)/hn.tpt.btbn(euph)/pf/2vn.va.vc/ebgtr
  • 1 hr 30 min

Programme Note


Derived from the famous, enigmatic painting by Brueghel the Elder Landscape with Fall of Icarus, this work is the fruit of Nyman’s close collaboration with two other artists working in different media and with different horizons: the Belgian Frédéric Flamand (concept and direction) and the Italian Fabrizio Plessi (design and video sculptures). Nine ctor/dancers – nine Icaruses – present a polyphony of electric images, music, choreography, video constructions, contrasting actions and dumb shows: a reminder of neverending human folly, powers of creation and desire and metaphysical terror