• Erik Bergman
  • Mana Op (1991)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Written for Washington Music Ensemble

  • clpfvn.vc
  • 11 min

Programme Note

Four instruments (clarinet, violin, cello and piano) come together in the sound-world of Mana, balancing and complementing one another. The work grows out of a tiny germ with the musical events developing around a basic kernel. Different playing techniques show the thematic material in different lights, revealing new aspects and sharpening its profile. A meditative strain - sometimes elegiac and sometimes dramatic in character - runs through the whole work. A rhythmic figure in the piano makes its presence felt, sometimes as a mysterious undertone, sometimes dramatically insistent, and isolated staccato notes interjected over silently depressed cluster chords leave a haze of overtones. Violent contrasts, both in expression and dynamics, succeed one another. While the formal structure is always apparent, the utmost sensitivity of expression is present throughout: a butterfly's wing brushed by ardent passion."

© Erik Bergman, ca. 1992