Commissioned by the New Arts String Quartet

  • String Quartet
  • 8 min

Programme Note

The title 'Metal Strings' suggests speed metal rock music which I have been listening to a lot in recent years. I find an explosive energy in its music that people of today thirst for. Previously I have explored solid, speedy and metallic sound in pieces such as 'Wave Mechanics' (1994), 'Wave Mechanics II' (1994) and 'Metallic Crystal' (1994-95). This idea has been extended and developed in my string quartet, 'Metal Strings'.

© Karen Tanaka