• gtr/vc
  • 17 min

Programme Note

'Tristia' was written to be performed by the Icelandic guitarist Pétur Jónasson and myself at the Arts Festival in Reykajavik in June 1984.

This suite of seven short pieces extensively explores the sonorities of both instruments, creating in many of the movements, some delicately shaded colours.

Memories of my native country of Iceland were the inspiration for this almost ‘surrealistic’ musical sketchbook.

Even though these seven short movements are simple in character, they are technically difficult; the balance problems are considerable between the two very different instruments, which almost equally share the musical material.

1. Northern river
2. Transparent spring
3. Sleepy mountains
4. Sea-waves
5. Filled with space and time
6. A star will never kill
7. Flight across the silence

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson