• Haflidi Hallgrímsson
  • Metamorphoses (1993)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Young Musicians Trust, Edinburgh

In memory of John Tunnell, written for Jaime Laredo

  • pfvl.vc
  • 10 min

Programme Note

'Metamorphoses is written in memory of the violinist John Tunnell, who was one of the founders of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, and its leader for almost two decades. 'Metamorphoses' was commissioned by the Young Musicians Trust in Edinburgh, and received its premiere at the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh by the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio, on 15 March 1994.

'Metamorphoses' is essentially a dirge that starts calmly, but gradually (through numbers of closely related sections) reaches a slow and solemn lament, played in unison by the violin and cello. The lament eventually reaches a spacious and powerful climax, followed immediately by a quiet and reflective coda.

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson