• John Tavener
  • Lament for Constantinople (1997)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • BaritoneAlto flute
  • 15 min
  • John Tavener
  • Nicetas Chorisatef trans. Athanasios Angelou & John Davis

Programme Note

Lament for Constantinople is offered in unspeakable gratitude to the Holy Orthodox Church. For its apophatic theology, a stumbling block for the human intelligence, for the fact of its "trinitarian" consciousness, for the Divine Liturgy in its offering: "Bringing before Thee Thine own of Thine own, in all and for all" - for the ikons, apostolic windows into the divine world. And last but not least, for its music, which is a gathering together of all Ancient musics that have ever existed as well as the music of the synagogue at the time of Christ, revealing thus, an apostolic and eschatological dimension.

Orthodoxy, alone, contains within it all that has gone before the ages, and all that will come to be subsequently, without end.

John Tavener