• John Tavener
  • The Call (1988)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Andrew Shenton

  • 10 min
  • compiled by Mother Thekla
  • English

Programme Note

The text of this work is based on a line from St. Matthews 9:9, and was prepared for me by Mother Thekla, Abbess of the Monastery of the Assumption, North Yorkshire. In three mounting steps, the music represents the work of St. Matthew: the ascent of the spirit into silence.