Commissioned by the Finnish National Opera

Part 6 of Maa -- see Dramatic Works

  • Harp & electronics (see below for details)
  • 5 min

Programme Note

For full information on the electronics, please see 'more info'.

"Fall" for solo harp and electonics is the sixth and second last part of the ballet music "Maa" (meaning land or carth in Finnish), which in it's totality is instrumented for seven instruments and Electronics. The Whole ensemble (flute, percussion, harpsicord/keyboards, harp, violin, viola and cello) is playing together only in the last part. The ballet itself has no storyboard. One general theme is passing from one state to another; opening doors, gates, falling, crossing the Water.
"Fall" is a short and relatively virtuoso piece for harp. The title suggets an idea about falling into an underworld, and the overall shape of the piece follows this idea, starting from a high register and gradually opening the ambitus during the piece.


Contrechamps, Bassand, Poissonnier




More Info