• John Joubert
  • Dance Suite (1956)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Adolph Hallis

  • piano
  • 9 min

Programme Note

John Joubert: Dance Suite for piano

Allegro ma non troppo
Adagio con moto
Con spirito

My Dance Suite was written during the Christmas vacation of 1955-56 for the pianist Adolph Hallis. Being pressed for time I imposed upon myself the task of composing one piece per day, thus completing the whole suite in five consecutive days. No attempt is made at evoking the stylised courtly dances of the Baroque suite: the dance element here is an once more generalised and less sophisticated, veering from the sinuous and balletic (nos. 2 & 4), to the folk-like and primitive (nos. 3 & 5). All the five pieces are studies in rhythm of various kinds, some slow (nos. 2 & 4), some fast (nos. 1, 3 & 5); some regular in metre (nos. 1, 2 & 4), some irregular (nos. 3 & 5). In no. 3 the basic time signature is 7/8; in no. 5 the time signature changes every bar.
© John Joubert