• Rory Boyle
  • Winter Music (1986)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • 2(pic)2224331percpfstr
  • 20 min

Programme Note

The winter of 1986 was a particularly harsh one in the south of England, and WINTER MUSIC, written there in the first three months of that year, although not essentially programmatic, conjures up images of winter in its musical language. The work, which divides into five main sections played continuously, opens on a unison D out of which various cadenza-like passages grow. The strings then introduce a quicker section based on the interval of the minor third, and after a brief climax, the music returns to its cadenza-like opening. A slow section follows in which chromaticism predominates, and this element continues in the next faster section which also makes use of fanfare-like passages on the brass. An icy quality pervades the fourth section and much use is made if tuned percussion simulating crystals of snow. The final section is restless and turbulent and builds into massive climax, while in the closing bars there is a hint of the spring to come.

Rory Boyle