• Michael Blake Watkins
  • Concertante (1973)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 1(pic)1(ca)1011002percpfstr(
  • 30 min

Programme Note

Michael Blake Watkins: Concertante

Concertante was written during the summer of 1973, and is scored for an instrumental ensemble of eleven players: flute(piccolo), oboe(cor anglais), bass clarinet, horn, trumpet, 2 percussion, piano, violin, viola and cello.

I set out to write a chamber work which would embody four small concerti, set against a three-movement framework for full ensemble.

The piece is in nine continuous sections. The Prelude, a tutti of dramatic character, leads to Concertino I, scored for solo cello with woodwind accompaniment. Interruption I, for brass, percussion and piano, precedes Concertino II, for oboe and string trio. The central Interlude is a quieter Lento for all the players, with solo parts for the violin and viola. Concertino III is a lively vivace for solo violin with woodwind, brass, percussion and piano accompaniment. The spiky Interruption II for brass, percussion and piano leads to Concertino IV, an elegy for solo horn and string trio. The Postlude is a tutti in the character of a rondo, with four cadenzas: the third for oboe and viola; the second for flute and clarinet; the third for brass, percussion and piano, and the last for violin, cello and percussion. Material from the Prelude gradually encroaches, leading the work to its dramatic conclusion

© Michael Blake Watkins