Prize for Urban Prayer

Prize for Urban Prayer
© Marion Ettinger
Karen Tanaka’s cello concerto Urban Prayer has been awarded the 2005 Bekku Prize. This highly prestigious award, first presented in 2000 and named after composer Sadao Bekku, is given each year to the best orchestral piece composed by a Japanese composer.

Urban Prayer was a private commission for Joan Jeanrenaud (pictured), who premiered the work in 2004 with Kent Nagano and the Berkeley Symphony. This beautifully haunting work, cast in three movements and 20 minutes in duration, captures the image of a prayer being spoken in quite humble surroundings, yet reaching far beyond them.

Related News

Tanaka in Bergen
9th September 2003 Tanaka in Bergen
Tanaka focus in Michigan
22nd March 2002 Tanaka focus in Michigan