Per Nørgård at Ernest von Siemens Music Prize celebration

Per Nørgård at Ernest von Siemens Music Prize celebration
Photo of Per Nørgård
© Lars Skaaning

October 1, 2023 Quatuor Diotima will present Per Nørgård’s String Quartet No. 10 – Høsttidløs at Tonhalle Zurich.

In honor of the 50th anniversary of the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize, a series of commemorative concerts is underway. Among the highlights of these musical celebrations is the presentation of works by past award recipients, including the esteemed Danish composer, Per Nørgård, who was honored with the prize in 2016.

Quatuor Diotima will perform Nørgård's String Quartet No. 10 – Høsttidløs. This 14-minute composition, presented in a single movement, is marked by its deceptive simplicity and melodic elegance.

Per Nørgård offers insight into his inspiration, stating:

During the composition of my tenth string quartet a flower-name, høst-tidløs, came to my mind – and it would not me leave again. [høsttidløs is actually autumn crocus in English, but the composer prefers harvest-timeless, to maintain some of the associations of the Danish flower-name, red.] The paradoxical union of a seasonal time (harvest) and no-time-at-all was a good fit to the sections of the work that I had composed at that time, and I decided to tentatively stick to that title for the work-in-progress, and now, having finished the piece, I can say that is is still a fitting title – and it stands.

At the concert Quatuor Diotima will also perform works by Wolfgang Rihm, Pierre Boulez, Sara Glojnarić, Henri Dutilleux. 


Performance Details

Sunday, October 1, 2023
Tonhalle Zurich
Quator Diotima


Related News