Pelle Prize at KLANG Festival

Pelle Prize at KLANG Festival
© Alexander Banck-Petersen

Last night, KLANG - Copenhagen Avantgarde Music Festival awarded their composition prize, the Pelle Prize, for the fifth time, to Marcela Lucatelli. The prize was presented by Bent Sørensen in a beautiful speech about music and curation.

We would like to congratulate Marcela Lucatelli on a well deserved win!

The Pelle Prize is awarded to a composer whose talent dares to cross the norms of its time.

The prize is named after Danish composer Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen. After his death in 2016, the festival, Edition Wilhelm Hansen and Pelle’s widow Karin Birgitte Lund founded the composition prize to honour the composer’s legacy and his constant support of young composers.

In Brazil when we talk about death we talk about a magical transformation.
With this prize, I wish to honour Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen and continue his magic.

- Marcela Lucatelli

The prize has previously gone to Jeppe Ernst, James Black, Mette Nielsen and Jens Peter Møller.

Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen composed with noises, sounds and old discarded instruments, colliding them into one another, on repeat. His music was raw and direct. A cacophony combining different ideas of music into a ritual.

Read about Gudmundsen-Holmgreen’s Choir music and dive into his catalogue with these playlists.

Orchestral music

Chamber music

Choir music

Related News