Joan Tower to Receive Award at CMA 2020 Conference

Joan Tower to Receive Award at CMA 2020 Conference
Joan Tower
credit: Bernie Mindich

Chamber Music America, the national network for ensemble music professionals, has announced that Joan Tower will receive the Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award, which recognizes an individual or entity that has made a significant contribution to the ensemble music field on a national level and spanning an entire career. CMA will honor her during its 2020 Conference, Music, Equity, and Our Future, in New York City.

Previous recipients of the Award include The Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM), David Shifrin, Rudolf Serkin, Alice Tully, Billy Taylor, the Juilliard, Emerson, and Kronos string quartets, Chick Corea, Kenneth Fischer, and Paquito D'Rivera.

Tower is widely regarded as one of the most important American composers living today. During a career spanning more than fifty years, she has made lasting contributions to musical life in the United States as composer, performer, conductor, and educator. From 1969 to 1984, she was pianist and founding member of the Naumburg Award-winning Da Capo Chamber Players, which commissioned and premiered many of her most popular works. Other chamber works have been commissioned by the Boston Chamber Music Society, Chamber Music Monterey Bay, St. Timothy's Summer Music Festival, Bravo! Vail Valley Music Festival, La Jolla Music Society for SummerFest, Music from Angel Fire, Chamber Music Northwest, and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, among many others. She has received honorary doctorates from Smith College, the New England Conservatory, and Illinois State University. She is the Asher Edelman Professor of Music at Bard College, where she has taught since 1972.



Related News