Corigliano's 'A Dylan Thomas Trilogy' on the Centenary

Corigliano's 'A Dylan Thomas Trilogy' on the Centenary
A Dylan Thomas Trilogy by John Corigliano will celebrate its Welsh writer's centenary in Thomas's homeland on October 11 2014. The BBC National Orchestra of Wales, with The BBC Singers, baritone Roderick Williams, tenor Andrew Staples, and conductor Grant Llewellyn, will bring this beautiful melding of text and music to audiences in Swansea. Corigliano will attend this Wales premiere.

He composed its three free-standing parts over almost a score of years. They are often performed on their own:
  •     Fern Hill (1960) - voice, chorus, and orchestra or chamber orchestra or string orchestra
  •     Poem in October (1970) - voice and chamber orchestra or octet
  •     Poem on His Birthday (1976) - voice, chorus, and orchestra

Explore the BBC Guide to Dylan Thomas
Statue of Dylan Thomas, Maritime Quarter, Swansea

Related News