Scottish International Piano Competition

Scottish International Piano Competition

Chester Novello NewsPremieresNew Works New Publications Recordings Website

Entrants in the Scottish International Piano Competition 2010 will each perform a specially commissioned test piece by
Thea Musgrave as part of their recitals.

Snapshots is designed to test the performers’ powers of musical expression to the full. The composer writes that
‘There are many different interpretations of this work - there is not one ‘correct’ way of playing it. It grew out of an idea when teaching students the importance of “marking up” their music and showing them how changing dynamics or tempi can completely alter the character of the music.’

The piece will be performed as part of the Stage 2 recitals on September 13. Musgrave will also be a member of the judging panel for the event, which is held at the RSAMD in Glasgow from 8-19 September. Previous test pieces have been commissioned from composers including
John McCabe and Judith Weir.

Please click here for more NewsMore eNews

Related News