World Soundtrack Award Nominees Announced

World Soundtrack Award Nominees Announced
Francisco Manuel Del Amo
The nominations for the 8th annual World Soundtrack Awards have been announced by The World Soundtrack Academy. The three principal categories in the awards are Film Composer of the Year, Best Original Score of the Year and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. The names of the winners will be announced on Saturday, October 18 on the closing evening of the Ghent International Film Festival.

Alberto Iglesias has been nominated in two categories for his score to Steven Foster’s The Kite Runner; he is a contender to win the 2008 award for Film Composer of the Year and also Best Original Score of the Year.

In addition to the three principal categories the Academy Board will also select the Discovery of the Year 2008, nominees in this category will be announced on September 2. In addition to the Awards presented by the Academy, film music fans around the world can vote for their choice of the best soundtrack of the past year.

For more information please visit: