Grawemeyers @ Carnegie Hall

Grawemeyers @ Carnegie Hall
On 8 March, as part of the University of Louisville's 75th anniversary celebration, the University's Symphony Orchestra and Wind Symphony come to New York's Carnegie Hall to headline a special Grawemeyer Award concert. Directors Kimcherie Lloyd and Frederick Speck will conduct works by past prize-winning composers of the University of Louisville Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition. The 2007 recipient of the $200,000 award will be announced.

"We want the 75th anniversary celebration," notes School of Music Dean Christopher Doane, "to reflect not only the local influence the School of Music has had on the culture of this community, but also to illustrate the national and international involvement it has had and will have."

Grawemeyer-winning composers on the concert include: Witold Lutoslawski, Karel Husa, Joan Tower, John Corigliano, and Aaron Jay Kernis. The following day, a symposium and concert take place at Lincoln Center's New York City Public Library for the Performing Arts. Washington Post music critic Tim Page moderates a panel discussion which includes composers Corigliano, Husa, Kernis, Tower, and the 2007 recipient.

Celebrations of the Grawemeyer Awards
     4 March: Louisville, KY
     8 March: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY

Corigliano (GS)
Symphony No. 1: Tarantella

Husa (AMP)
Cello Concerto

Kernis (AMP)
Musica Celestis

Lutoslawski (CH)
Fanfare for Louisville

Tower (AMP)
Fascinating Ribbons

University of Louisville Symphony Orchestra/Kimcherie Lloyd
University of Louisville Wind Symphony/Frederick Speck