Commissioned by Orchestra da Camera

  • 0202/2000/str
  • 19 min

Programme Note

John Joubert: Sinfonietta, op. 38

Composed in response to a commission from Orchestra da Camera, my Sinfonietta is scored for 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns and strings. It was performed in Birmingham in 1962 by Orchestra da Camera conducted by Brian Priestman. There are two movements. The first is a symphonic allegro in traditional first movement form. The second is in two parts: a slow introduction followed by a lively allegro in 12/8 time. The slow section introduces the wind instruments in cadenza-like passages, followed by a broad melody on the strings. The cadenzas re-appear, in combination this time, and a transition leads straight into the concluding allegro
© John Joubert