• Richard Rodney Bennett
  • Saxophone Concerto (1988)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Leslie Bishop for John Harle and London Musici

  • str
  • alto saxophone
  • 16 min
    • 2nd July 2021, Stoller Hall, Manchester, United Kingdom
    View all

Programme Note

This work was commissioned by Leslie Bishop for John Harle and London Music and is dedicated to John Harle; it was written in New York City between July and September 1988 and lasts about 16 minutes.

"I have always been familiar with the use of the saxophone in jazz, but it was not until I wrote the music for BBC TV’s Tender Is the Night that I thought about using the instrument in a more classical context. I was lucky enough to have the important soprano saxophone part in that score played by John Harle; from then on my attitude to the saxophone changed entirely. John commissioned my Sonata for soprano saxophone and piano (premiered at the Purcell Room with duo partner John Lenehan on 23 November 1988), this was followed by some sketches for a saxophone quartet, and then by the alto saxophone concerto.

The Concerto is divided into three main sections, played without a break. The first section (Molto vivo) is lively and extrovert and contrasts the strongly rhythmic opening material with a cantabile line which is first played by the violins. After an extended development of these two ideas the saxophone has a brilliant solo cadenza followed by a brief varied reprise of the materials of the movement. Another cadenza, this time very short, leads to the second main section (Interlude: andante). This is a short rhapsodic piece with the strings muted.

The last part of the Concerto is in two halves, Allegro and Lento. The fast opening refers back to the lyrical elements of the first two movements, and the slow conclusions refers back to the Interlude. Towards the end of the work the opening of the last section reappears briefly and then the Concerto ends very quietly.”

The Saxophone Concerto was commissioned by Leslie Bishop for John Harie and the London Music, who premiered the work on 14 October 1988 at St John’s Smith Square with Mark Stephenson conducting.