• Karen Tanaka
  • Hommage en cristal (1991)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Ultima Festival

  • str([both 5 string db])
  • piano
  • 9 min

Programme Note

Hommage en Cristal for piano and 14 strings was written as an homage to Maestro Luciano Berio. The harmonic field of this piece is based on a series of twenty-three notes chosen by him for me.

It was commissioned by the Ultima Festival and premiered at Den Gamle Logen in Oslo by Hakon Austbø with the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra conducted by Beat Furrer on 22 October 1991.

© Karen Tanaka