Commissioned by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra for its 100th anniversary

  • 4(pic)444(2cbn)/6441/timp.3perc/
  • 27 min

Programme Note

Ananke was composed for the 100th anniversary of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra. And as if to give the orchestra a chance to show its might and strength on this great occasion, Bergman uses a larger orchestra than in his other works (e.g. quadruple woodwind and a large brass section). The substance of the work also shows Bergman at his most forceful and dramatic. Ananke is in two movements, its aggressive outbursts offset by calmer stretches of delicate sound.

© Kimmo Korhonen, November 1998
(translated by © Susan Sinisalo, February 1999)