• Anna Thorvaldsdottir
  • Hrím (2010)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • fl.ob+ca.cl+bcl/hn.tbn/pf.cel/str[]
  • 8 min
    • 24th July 2021, Cecil Sharp House, London, United Kingdom
    • 29th August 2021, Kanagawa Prefectural Music Hall, Yokohama, Japan
    View all

Programme Note

Hrím was written in late 2009 and early 2010 as a commission for The University of California at San Diego's New Music Ensemble to serve as a companion piece to Ligeti's Chamber Concerto.

The piece is inspired by the notion of dispersion, represented as release and echoing in the sense that single elements in the music are released and spread through the ensemble in various ways throughout the process of the piece. The music is in one short movement.

The work was funded in part by The Icelandic National Broadcasting Service Composers’ fund.

Programme note by Anna Thorvaldsdottir


View Score

Preview the score