• Graeme Koehne
  • Three poems of Byron (1991)

  • G Schirmer (Australia) Pty Ltd (World)
  • S/str
  • 12 min

Programme Note

1. Stanzas for Music 2. To Woman 3. She Walks in Beauty

Composer Note:
The Three Poems of Byron provide meditations on love in a setting for female voice and string orchestra. Written for the Adelaide Chamber Orchestra in 1993 the work was rearranged for the Australian String Quartet in 2007. The poems reflect, exquisitely, on the poet's appreciation of feminine beauty. The second of the chosen poems switches momentarily from the theme of beauty's praise to reflect upon the fickleness of woman.
— © Graeme Koehne