• Brian Elias
  • Oboe Quintet (2016)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation.

  • ob/2vn.va.vc
  • 20 min

Programme Note

In this quintet, the oboe predominates and leads the musical development to a large extent, although the strings play more than just a supporting role. The main ideas for the work (both melodic and harmonic) are stated in the first few bars and the rest of the piece develops organically from this material. Motifs, melodies and harmonies are ‘recollected’ throughout, often in new contexts, to provide a sense of unity.

There are five movements played without a break (fast, slow, fast, slow, fast), the last being an extended coda. The first movement is moderately fast and is in a concertante style. It is followed by a slow and lyrical movement, and then a scherzo. The fourth movement is also slow, and the final section - the coda - returns to the music of the scherzo, gradually slowing down to a quiet and reflective conclusion.

Programme note © 2017 Brian Elias