• John Luther Adams
  • Three Drum Quartets from Earth and the Great Weather (1993)

  • Taiga Press (BMI) (World)
  • 4perc
  • 28 min

Programme Note

These three pieces are drawn from Earth and the Great Weather, an evening length “sonic geography” of the Arctic. Although purely “abstract” in form, it is my hope that they are in some small measure informed by the elemental power of natural forces in the Arctic, and by the ecstatic power of Inupiat Eskimo drumming and dancing.

The great sea has set me adrift.
It moves me like a weed
in a great river.
Earth and the great weather move me,
have carried me away
and move my inward parts with joy.

- Uvavnuk,
an Iglulik Eskimo shaman



Preview the score