• Bent Sørensen
  • De fire årstider (2016)
    (The Four Seasons)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Commissioned by and written for POING with support from Norsk Kulturråd / Arts Council Norway.

  • asx.acn.db
  • narrator
  • 55 min
  • Bent Sørensen
  • Tomas Espedal
  • Norwegian, English, German, Danish

Programme Note

'The Four Seasons' is a collaboration between the Danish composer Bent Sørensen, the Norwegian author Tomas Espedal and the ensemble POING. Sørensen has written a one-hour work to texts from Espedal's latest book 'Året' (The Year). The result is a sensitive work that deals with great and dramatic experiences - love, loss, war, death - aging and despair, stagnation and the eternal repetition of the same thing. The two long-standing friends Espedal and Sørensen are connected for the first time on an artistic level through this work. The Trio POING is one of the most important Scandinavian formations for contemporary music and since 1999 consists of Frode Haltli (accordion), Håkon Thelin (double bass) and Rolf-Erik Nystrøm (saxophone).


Danish Premiere performance at SPOR festival, June 2017

View Score

Excerpt Danish version
Excerpt English version