• Brian Elias
  • Cello Concerto (2015)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • 2(pic).2.2(ebcl)+bcl.2/2211/timp.3perc/hp/str
  • Cello
  • 25 min

Programme Note

This Concerto is in four main sections that are played without a break. As with most of my work, the music throughout is generated from the ideas presented in the first few bars, and these ideas and their variants appear freely in the different sections. Recurring material and references to earlier sections are used deliberately to create not only a sense of unity but also an impression of familiarity that aspires to induce a dream-like perception of the passing music, a kind of spiral.

This work is dedicated to Natalie Clein.

© 2017 Brian Elias

View Score