• John Tavener
  • Mahavakyas (2013)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Temenos Academy

  • Soprano/vc
  • 7 min

Programme Note

Mahavakyas for soprano and cello soloists is a meditation on the four great statements of the Upanishads, and also on the Sarabande from Cello Suite No. 1 by Bach. It is dedicated to the memory of the poet and Blake scholar Kathleen Raine (1908-2003), who loved both the Upanishads and Bach.

Prajnanam Brahma. Consciousness is the Absolute.
Aham Brahmasmi. I am the Absolute.
Tat tvam asi. That I am.
Ayam Atma Brahma. The Self is the Absolute.