• Tarik O'Regan
  • Triptych (arr. Alcorn) (2005)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Arranged for SATB chorus and percussion ensemble by Dave Alcorn (2010)

  • 8perc
  • SATB; str, SATB; string septet and SSA; str
  • SATB
  • 17 min
  • Various
  • English

Programme Note

Triptych represents the concatenation of two commissions. Movement I was commissioned with funds from The RVW Trust for the inaugural concert of the Choir of London conducted by Jeremy Summerly in Christ Church, Spitalfields on 18th December, 2004; the work, premièred as Threnody, was subsequently toured by the Choir to Jerusalem and the West Bank from 19th December to 26th December, 2004. Movements II and III, commissioned by Portsmouth Grammar School with financial support from the PRS Foundation, were premièred as And There Was a Great Calm in a contiguous version for lower strings and upper voices by the Portsmouth Grammar School Chamber Choir and the London Mozart Players in a concert at Portsmouth Anglican Cathedral on 13th November, 2005 conducted by Nicolae Moldoveanu.

I gratefully acknowledge the assistance of Bruce Ruben and Judith Clurman, as well as that of my parents, with the collation of the texts.

Tarik O’Regan
New York, September 2005



Preview the score