• Soprano
  • 25 min
    • 27th January 2024, Musiktheater im Revier, Gelsenkirchen, Germany
    View all

Programme Note

Kaija Saariaho’s Emilie Suite was a joint commission by Carnegie Hall, New York City, Cité de la Musique, Paris, Luzerner Sinfonieorchester and Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg.

It was first performed on 30 November 2011 at Carnegie Hall by the Avanti! Chamber Orchestra and soprano Elizabeth Futral conducted by Hannu Lintu. The first performance in Paris took place on 23 April 2013 at Cité de la Musique by the Avanti! Chamber Orchestra and soprano Barbara Hannigan conducted by Ernest Martinez Izquierdo.


Emilie suite: I. Pressentiments (Forebodings)
Emilie suite: II. Interlude I
Emilie suite: III. Principia
Emilie suite: IV. Interlude II
Emilie suite: V. Contre l'oubli (Against Oblivion)