• Ian Venables
  • Flying Crooked, Op. 28/1 (1998)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • Piano
  • Baritone; Piano
  • High Voice
  • 1 min

Programme Note

Two Songs Op 28

i. Flying Crooked
ii. At Midnight

The two songs opus 28 are examples of Ian Venables' ultra-refined sensibility, contrasting the harmonic subtleties and ambiguities of his setting of Robert Graves' poem 'Flying Crooked' with the dream-like atmosphere of one of Edna St.Vincent Millay's many sonnets.

Flying Crooked is a witty interpretation of a poem that describes the haphazard flight patterns of the most ubiquitous of butterflies, the cabbage-white. Lasting just over a minute, its pointillistic and harmonically ambiguous piano writing contrasts the effortless diatonicism of the vocal line, creating a whimsical, if not irreverent setting. The poem was sent to the composer by Lady Bliss, to whom the song is dedicated and at whose home it received its first private performance.

This work has been recorded by Nathan Vale and Paul Plummer on SOMM CD 063, and by Andrew Kennedy and the Dante quartet in an arrangement by Graham J Lloyd on Signum


2 Songs, Op. 28: No. 1, Flying Crooked



More Info