• John Høybye
  • The Little Mermaid (2005)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • str
  • SATB
  • nar.
  • 34 min
  • H.C. Andersen / Edward Bainbridge

Programme Note

The Little Mermaid is the famous story of the girl with the beautiful voice and a consuming passion for the Prince.

The work is for solo soprano, mixed choir, narrator and string orchestra.
It was commissioned by The Second International Choir Festival in Randers, Denmark, August 2005.
It is published in two versions:

FULL VERSION as a cantata for soprano solo, mixed choir, narrator and string orchestra. Duration 35 mins.

A CAPPELLA VERSION in which the 7 movements are available separately:
- Crackerjack, crackerjack
- A man lives only 70 years
- Deep down in the ocean
- Sea Witch
- Stand up, my dear
- You dance the best of all
- Lift up your eyes and glorify

Two of the movements (Crackerjack, crackerjack & Deep down in the ocean) are also available in a version for equal voices under the title Two songs from The Little Mermaid for equal voices a cappella

The linking Recitation texts which form part of the Full Version are also available in a small booklet with the English text translated into Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese and Japanese. The work can thus be performed in countries where English is not immediately understood.