• Rolf Wallin
  • Concerning King (2006)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned for the Arditti String Quartet by the Ultima Festival, Oslo, with funding from Det Norske Komponistfund, with additional support from the ISCM World Music Days Stuttgart.

Unavailable for performance.

  • 2vn.va.vc
  • 20 min

Programme Note

1. "a time comes when silence is betrayal..."
2. "we were taking the black young men..."
3. "they wander into the towns... "
4. "a voice to the voiceless..."
5. "each day the war goes on..."
6. "we still have a choice today..."

The music of Concerning King is based on a spectral plotting of excerpts from Martin Luther King's speech Beyond Vietnam — a Time to Break Silence, delivered 4 April 1967 at a meeting of Clergy and Laity Concerned at Riverside Church in New York City.

Rolf Wallin


Score sample