• Karel Husa
  • String Quartet No. 4 (Poems) (1990)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • 2 vn, va, vc
  • 20 min

Programme Note

Composer Note:

String Quartet No. 4 (Poems) was commissioned by the National Endowment for the Arts for the consortium of Colorado, Blair and Alard Quartets. The work was completed in the spring of 1989 in Ithaca, New York.

A collection of six poems, the String Quartet No. 4 explores possibilities of unusual sonorities in a virtuosic writing. The individual poems speak of Bells, Sunlights, Darkness, Life and Freedom, Wild bird, Trees and Hope. They are performed without interruption .

The String Quartet No. 4 was performed for the first time by the Colorado Quartet at the International Ranacek Music Festival in Brno, Czechoslovakia on October 12, 1991.

— Karel Husa