• Karl Aage Rasmussen
  • Encore VIII b (Fuga) (1984)
    (Encore VIII b Fugue )

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • pf
  • 14 min

Programme Note

The title of this piece can be ”fugue” or the same word in the language of the country where a performance takes place.

Fugue is built, through and through, on the fugue from the piano sonata opus 106 by Beethoven (“Hammerklavier”). The work is a fugue in a forced sense in as much as Beethovens fugue is present in four different tempos at the same time, thus establishing a kind of “canon”. All the notes in the piece are composed by Beethoven, but the joint result of the different tempo-layers has been “siftet” through a compositional “filter” and the polyphonic lines have been taken apart.

The result is a music which is fast and slow at the same time, a music which moves “from time to time”. The four tempos have the relations 12/9/8/6.