• Hans Abrahamsen
  • Symfoni (1974)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 14 min

Programme Note

Symphony (no.1) was written in 1974, and consists of 2 movements dialectically related to each other.

1st movement: A dynamic development with a material expanding within the frames of the classical sonata form. This has not been made from a 'neo-classical' point af view but from a 'concretistic'. The sonata form is applied mechanicallly - it is a strait -jacket.

2nd movement: A sound-weaving of threads from time to time converging into pastoral openings, which are thrown in relief with the born sound. The pastorals disappear in the combination of threads, echoes are heard in the subdued horns. The movement ends with a reference to the opening of the first movement.


Score preview