• Per Nørgård
  • Drømmesange (1981)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • perc ad lib
  • SATB; perc(ad lib.)
  • chor [SA chor]
  • 13 min
    • 4th September 2023, Mogens Dahl Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark
    View all

Programme Note

Drømmesange (Dream Songs) consist of three versions of the same “dream”: a harmonic version, an ambiguous version and a nightmarish version. In the composition the harmonic version returns at the end, but the placement gives it a new color. Whereas the first version might seem kind of ´for free´, the utopia of the reprise is a result of hard work for a new harmony, for a while…

The different accents of percussionists (the patterns all based on my so-called infinity series) add different colors to the different versions of the “dream”.

Per Nørgård