• Per Nørgård
  • Strygekvartet nr. 4 - Kvartet i 3 sfærer (1969)
    (String quartet No. 4 - Quartet in 3 Spheres)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • str4tet, tape
  • 12 min

Programme Note


The spectrum of sound, the gesticulation – in short, the very nature of the strings – has always had a central place in my output, demonstrated by the numbers of string quartets, concertos with string soloist, chamber and solo works. The interest dates back to my school years, when I was fortunate to be able to compose for a cello-playing schoolmate and to accompany him on the piano. I discovered then the innumerable nuances of sound and playing varieties offered by just one bow, four strings and five fingers..

String quartet no. 4 – Dreamscape. Quartet in 3 Spheres is an experimental composition in terms of sound and timbre, a 12 part piece for 3 string quartets (the two of which are played electronically in the hall, with the live quartet). The work was comissioned by the Philips company, and is dedicated to the Eyvind Sand Kjeldsen Quartet.

Per Nørgård (1998)