• Per Nørgård
  • Between - Cellokoncert nr. 1 (1985)
    (Between - Cello Concerto No.1 )

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

In 3 movements
1. In Between
2. Turning point
3. Among

  • Cello
  • 30 min

Programme Note

BETWEEN - CELLO CONCERTO NO. 1 – 3 movements for cello and orchestra (1984-85)

1. In Between
2. Turning point
3. Among

The title of each movement suggests one aspect of the relationship between soloist and orchestra. In the first movement the solist is caught up in a conflict between the expression of inner feelings (solo) and influences from external sources (orchestra), the latter of which the soloist in a simple accompanying role, but after a turning point in the middle of the movement the soloist assumes a dominating role. In the final movement a balance is finally achieved, with the soloist at last being on equal terms with the orchestra.

Per Nørgård


Between: In Between
Between: Turning Point
Between: Among


Score preview