• Per Nørgård
  • Suite, Op. 5 (1953)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • fl, pf
  • 10 min

Programme Note

Though composed 33 years ago I still clearly remember the process of composition: The first and second movement was composed rather easely, the third movement was an endless series of problems. Surprises like that I can still recognise today. I can also recognise the composer of this small suite, although the music might be different from my later works. A central idea for me, in 1953 and today, is clarity and melody. This idea let to a needed revision in 1962, including a total recomposing of the last movement.

Per Nørgård 1986