• Henrik Hellstenius
  • Stirrings Still for Six Instrumentalists (1993)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • vn, vc, fl, cl, perc, pf
  • 16 min

Programme Note

The title Stirrings Still was taken from one of Samuel BeckettĀ“s last text by the same name. "Still movement" and "movable stillness" are the two possible interpretations of the title. In the piece this reluctant motion is expressed in the relationship between the static harmony and the vivid movement. The music is not intended to create conflict between the static and the dynamic, but to get us to listen to the inner stirrings in the static and the static qualities of motion.

In Stirrings Still the static element can be heard as the monotous circling around a central pitch and the uniform quality of the chords, while the dynamic aspect is conveyed by the energy of the quickly moving passages, instrumental duos and the solo cadenzas, and the harmonic development.

Henrik Hellstenius