• Per Nørgård
  • Recall - Koncert for Harmonika [reduced version] (1968)
    (Recall - Concerto for accordion and orchestra [reduced version])

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 2(2pic).2.2(Ebcl).2/
  • accordion
  • 12 min

Programme Note

RECALL (1968) – concerto for accordion and orchestra

I. Cántico Antico
II. Villanesca
III. Rondino.

Recall was composed as a tribute to my recollections of the vitality of Balkan folklore – as perceived by an urban Scandinavian. So the listener will listen in vain for any “Authencity” of material. The slow introduction and the fast main movement unfold freely in their own way, which never is far from adopting sounds, melodies and rhythms which are far more “1960s in Denmark” than “perennial folklore”: it is an entertainment (recall), based on childhood memories seen (heard) through a grown up´s eyes (ears). Anyway, so I remember “Recall” today…

Per Nørgård (1990)


Score preview