• Anders Koppel
  • Concerto no. 2 for Saxophone and Orchestra (2003)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

For Benjamin Koppel and Odense Symphony Orchestra

  • 3(pic).2+ca.3.2+cbn4.3.3.1timp.perchpstr
  • asx, pf
  • 28 min

Programme Note

My second Concerto for saxophone and orchestra was written during the autumn 2003 and had its first performance with Benjamin Koppel as a soloist and Odense Symphony Orchestra conducted by Nicolae Moldoveanu. The solo part was written directly for my son, Benjamin, with whom I have worked on several projects, among them my compositions for his chamber-ensemble “Mad Cows Sing” and in our common trio. The saxophone part is partly written, partly open for improvisations, so the concerto picks up the thread from the baroque and roccoco concerto, where improvisations and free embellishments was a natural part of the soloist’s vocabulary. The concerto is in one sequence, but this sequence is clearly divided into four movements in a classic form – fast, slow, scherzo, finale – but the thematic content in the first and the last movement is related.

Anders Koppel

View Score