• Per Nørgård
  • Borderlines - Violinkoncert nr. 2 (2002)
    (Borderlines - Violin Concerto No.2 )

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • perc, str
  • Violin
  • 23 min

Programme Note

There are natural borders: rives, mountains, oceans - and there are borders which are the result of human decisions, often made with the aid of a ruler. Even though human borders can be said to be illusory they often influence individuals very palpably.

For the soloist in this violin concerto the borderlines of the title denote the conditions under which the soloist performs the solo part, namely two radically different tone-temperaments with its row of 7- or 12-tones; the other is as foreign to the ear as is the dark side of the moon to the eye, with micro-tones (generated as natural harmonics) on the lower string instruments. The two temperaments interchange, often rapidly, and it is up to the soloist to adjust the intonation of the solo part to the present temperament of the orchestra; the soloist is thus constantly challenged by everchanging borderlines.

In these perilous surroundings three movements unfold: the first is restlessly searching, the second is introvertly listening and the third is expansively forward thrusting.

Per Nørgård


Borderlines, "Violin Concerto No. 2": 1st movement
Borderlines, "Violin Concerto No. 2": 2nd movement
Borderlines, "Violin Concerto No. 2": 3rd movement


Score preview