• Per Nørgård and Niels Rosing-Schow
  • Without Jealousy (1984)
    (A Tortoise's Tango)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

Niels Rosing-Schow

  • 5 min

Programme Note

'Tortoise Tango' (1984), ´Light of a Night - Paul with bird' (1989) and 'Esperanza - Hermit Crab Tango' (1997) are (the first) three movements of a suite 'Animals in Concert' for piano. The movements can be performed separately.

Esperanza and Tortoise Tango were arranged for saxophone quartet by Jesper Nordin in 2001 – these also for bandoneon and small ensemble by Niels Rosing-Schow, in 1999.

Per Nørgård writes about Without Jealousy: : The tortoise as tango dancer must presumably possess certain rhythmic peculiarities, which I have chosen to express by letting the tune of the tortoise shuffle broadly, tripartite through the strict four partite time of tango.

Tortoise Tango was the original title of this piece, written for the so called ”tango project” by the pianist Yvar Mikashof, including tangos for piano by composers from all over the world.

Per Nørgård